• March 23, 2010
  • Comments : 0
  • In Category : Olympics

Tourism Whistler Press Release

Whistler Live! is where the 2010 Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games come to life with an energetic fusion of sport, art and entertainment. For 27 days, Whistler’s wintery pedestrian village will pulsate from 9 a.m. to 11 p.m against the spectacular backdrop of Whistler and Blackcomb mountains. A diverse range of free and unique Whistler Live!
experiences offer a dazzling taste of Whistler’s iconic mountain culture.
Cheer on the athletes during CTV sport broadcasts; be moved by medals presentations; take in daily après concerts; enjoy film and photography; hear legendary tales and listen to DJs light up the nightly Fire & Ice Remix. Experience Canada’s Games in the heart of Whistler Village.

Whistler Live! après line-up to rock Village Square
Village Square epitomizes the après action Whistler is famous for! As the heart of Whistler Live!, this venue pumps the stroll with the energy and passion of the Games. After showcasing the best in Olympic competition on the big screens, national and international bands rock the stage until the sun goes down. Step outside, because your living room is definitely no comparison to Village Square.
Mark your calendars… here’s the Whistler Village Square line-up during 2010 Olympic Winter Games. These bands are not to be missed:
Friday, February 12: The Hairfarmers (www.thehairfarmers.com)
Saturday, February 13: Valerie Sajdik (www.valeriesajdik.com)
Elliott BROOD (www.elliottbrood.ca)
Great Lakes Swimmers (www.greatlakeswimmers.com)
Sunday, February 14: Karkwa (www.karkwa.com)
Matisyahu (www.matisyahuworld.com)
Bedouin Soundclash (www.bedouinsoundclash.com)

Monday, February 15: Inez (www.inezmusic.ca)
George Leach (www.georgeleach.com)
Misteur Valaire (www.misteurvalaire.ca)

Tuesday, February 16: La Volée d’Castors (www.vdc.qc.ca)
Jenn Grant (www.jenngrant.com)
Hawksley Workman (www.hawksleyworkman.com)

Wednesday, February 17: Ali Milner (www.alimilner.com)
Mes Aïeux (www.mesaieux.qc.ca)
Barenaked Ladies (www.barenakedladies.com)

Thursday, February 18: The Lost Fingers (www.thelostfingers.com)
Kuba Oms (www.kubaoms.com)

Friday, February 19: Vishten (www.vishten.net)
House of Doc (www.houseofdoc.wordpress.com)
Corb Lund (www.corblund.com)

Saturday, February 20: Animal Nation (www.myspace.com/animalnation)
Five Alarm Funk (www.fivealarmfunk.com)
Jully Black (www.jullyblack.com)

Sunday, February 21: Sam Roberts Band (www.samrobertsband.com)

Monday, February 22: Wassabi Collective (www.wassabi.net)
Hey Rosetta! (www.heyrosetta.com)
Constantines (www.constantines.ca)

Tuesday, February 23: Damian Jr Gong Marley (www.myspace.com/damianmarley)

Wednesday, February 24: Kuban Cossack Chorus (www.kkx.ru/en)
(celebrating Russia and the Sochi 2014 Winter Games) Gorky Park

Thursday, February 25: ALO (www.alomusic.com)
Galactic (www.galacticfunk.com)

Friday, February 26: Chic Gamine (www.chicgamine.com)
Wintersleep (www.wintersleep.com)

Saturday, February 27: Two Hours Traffic (www.twohourstraffic.com)
Barney Bentall (www. barneybentall.com)

Sunday, February 28: Blue Rodeo (www.bluerodeo.com)

The Village Square line-up represents the entertainment at only one Whistler Live! site! Be the first to know about everything else Whistler Live!. Subscribe for Live! Updates at www.whistler2010.com

For more information on artists, contact:
Ali Richmond
Marketing & Creative Integration Manager
Whistler Live! & Whistler Arts Council
604-935-8236
marketing@whistlerartscouncil.com